Establishment of the University

Al-Hawash Private University is one of the leading private institutions of higher education in Syria. It was founded in 2007 as “Al-Hawash Private University for Pharmacy and Cosmetology” by the Presidential Decree No 258. Five years later, in 2012, the University was renamed as “Al-Hawash Private University”. HPU is a non-profit university accredited by the Ministry of Higher Education of Syria.


HPU is a member of such international organizations as: the Association of Universities of Asia and the Pacific (AUAP), the Mediterranean Universities Union (UNIMED)the International Association of Universities (IAU)the Association of Arab Universities (AArU), and the Arab Organization for Quality Assurance in Higher Education.

HPU is located in Wadi Al-Nasara, a quiet picturesque area in western Syria, close to the Lebanese border and administratively belonging to the governorate of Homs. It is situated in close proximity to the most famous tourist attractions in the area: “Crack de Chevalier” and “St. Georges Monastery”. The campus has four academic buildings with beautiful architectural designs that suit their surrounding natural environment and educational purposes.
HPU offers the latest world-class facilities as well as a wide range of academic, administrative and personal support services. Students have access to high-tech and comprehensive libraries, personal computer networking and a cutting-edge research center. HPU has a modern cozy dormitory for students and staff overlooking a botanic garden with a variety of medicinal and exotic plants. The campus provides a creative, nurturing environment where students can realize their potential while learning from a talented, highly qualified faculty. Our campus is small enough that you will always see a friendly face but big enough to make new friends.

Currently, HPU has 9 faculties:
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Pharmacy
Faculty of Cosmetology and Healthcare comprised of two departments: Cosmetology and Skincare and Nutrition and Healthcare
Faculty of Dentistry
Faculty of Engineering comprised of three departments: Civil Engineering, Archetcture and Information Technology.
Faculty of Multimedia
Faculty of Entrepreneurship
Faculty of Nursing
Faculty of Law
At present, the number of enrolled students is about 5000.